From Clinical Trial to BMT

It’s the week we’ve been waiting for. This Friday, Justin will be admitted into the Bone Marrow Transplant unit to start his treatment process, ultimately resulting in the transplant of donor stem cells and a three week stay in the hospital.

On a daily basis I am asked how Justin is doing and if he is nervous about what comes next. I never really know how to answer so my response is usually: “he’s doing well, I think he’s excited to be moving forward and finally getting it done.” Last night, while we were eating dinner I finally asked him myself.

hes-been-waiting-for-a-year-since-january-2016-when-we-were-first-told-about-the-possibility-of-a-transplant-for-this-to-begin-hes-ready-hes-been-briefed-by-doctors-nurses-social-wor“So, are you nervous about the transplant?”

I wasn’t surprised by his nonchalant response.

“No, not really.”

I told him that I get asked this question a lot and never really knew how to respond, but he approved of my canned answer.

With one more pre-transplant treatment left tomorrow, Justin will be saying goodbye to his clinical trial team, who have been so incredibly supportive and steadfast throughout this process, and by Friday we’ll be meeting his next medical crew: The BMT Team. We’ve toured the unit, been given the tricks of trade, and have a much better idea of what to expect. We are confident that he will be in excellent hands as he goes through the chemotherapy, radiation, and other initial treatment processes before the transplant, and will be well looked after as his body adjusts to his new immune system.

In addition to his healing, Justin’s days in the BMT unit will be filled with video games, walks, word searches, movies, and fighting fatigue. I will be working remotely, from my little pullout couch, reading, writing, and most likely, learning how to play video games.

As always, I will be updating Project: Transplant as things progress – if you’d like to reach out please feel free to send us an e-mail or comment on a post! To get these updates straight to your inbox, be sure to hit the subscribe button!

About Emily

My goal is to create an environment to inspire people to be the best version of themselves by connecting them to people, ideas, and resources. Just like my tiny home office space, The Corner Office is a collection of stories, creativity, inspiration, and ideas that I aim to share with anyone needing the motivation to maintain their best self.
This entry was posted in Bone Marrow Transplant. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to From Clinical Trial to BMT

  1. Marcia Spear says:

    Emily, I am so impressed with the strength you both have shown throughout this whole ordeal. You have been Justin’s rock. I will continue to pray, not just for Justin’s health, but for you also. May God be with you both.

    Love, Marcia

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mare says:

    I love you both and love this blog. Thank you for doing it. I will be praying fervently for both of you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Donna says:

    Continuing to pray for Justin and you as you enter the next phase of “getting Justin healthy”. May God give you both strength and healing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stephanie says:

    Prayers for Justin and you today and in the upcoming weeks!
    What great news that today is transplant day!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lorraine Paffenroth says:

    I am so proud of both of you, of your strength, your dedication and love for each other, and your positive outlook. I love you both and will never stop praying. May the coming spring bring a healthy renewal of mind, spirit and body! We all have so much to look forward too!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ashley Watkins says:

    We love you guys! Your strength blows me away. As always, we’re sending hugs and prayers your way. Also, I have alot of movies on my laptop if he’d like me to put them on a drive so he can have something to watch when hes bored. If youre interested, just let me know.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

