T-Minus: Three Weeks

The University of Michigan gives patients access to something called “The Patient Portal” – it is an online system to track appointments, blood work and test results, and documents. Fortunately, for Justin and I, this portal also comes with a smartphone app that we both have on our iPhones. It allows us to log it at any time and see what is on the horizon. My uber organized and logistic-focused brain appreciates the ability to have this information any time, anywhere.

As we get closer to the transplant, more and more appointments have been added to the portal. Blood work, PET scans, regular treatment appointments, a bone marrow biopsy, pre-transplant meetings… it seems that we will be very familiar with the halls of U of M Hospital over the next couple of months.

In the event that Justin’s donor clears all required medical tests in January, Justin will be admitted into the hospital the third week of January, to start the regimen of treatment and preparatory procedures required for the transplant that is scheduled for the following week.

We have been told that if all goes according to plan Justin will spend a total of 3 to 4 weeks in the hospital, to then come home for the remainder of his care.

Once Justin is home I will be his primary caregiver, I’ve even had to sign paperwork dedicating myself to that role and responsibility. It seemed odd to me, that as a wife, I had to sign paperwork saying that I would commit myself to taking care of my husband. I suppose all of the policies have been put into place for a reason.

As we prepare for the uncertainty and the hardship that January will undoubtedly bring, we are enjoying time at home and with our families. Over the coming weeks I will be cleaning the house, organizing paperwork, getting my work life and schedule organized, and getting us ready for the day we get in the car and head to the hospital for admission. We don’t anticipate a lot of updates to share over the next couple of weeks but I will be sure to pop in, and give you the signal that all is well on our end.

Thank you, as always, for your continued support!

happy-new-year

About Emily

My goal is to create an environment to inspire people to be the best version of themselves by connecting them to people, ideas, and resources. Just like my tiny home office space, The Corner Office is a collection of stories, creativity, inspiration, and ideas that I aim to share with anyone needing the motivation to maintain their best self.
This entry was posted in Bone Marrow Transplant and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to T-Minus: Three Weeks

  1. Jan Myers says:

    Continued prayers, love and hugs coming your way!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ashley Watkins says:

    We love you guys, and are always praying. If you need any thing just yell!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You know I love both of you. I’m here for anything I could possibly do to help. In the mean time, prayers, good thoughts and positive energy coming your way.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ava says:

    Unfortunately, caregivers have left during the transplant process. It can be very rigorous, difficult and challenging (usually when complications present). Don’t be afraid to ask for help, give yourself breaks, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emily says:

      Thanks Ava, I’ve read about caregivers who leave in the middle of a cancer treatment process, I have an amazing support system that makes sure I am also taken care of. It’s a team effort.

      Like

  5. Diane Trupiano says:

    Hugs and prayers being sent for both of you. You and Justin remain in our daily thoughts and prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

